Administration

College of Agriculture / COOPERATIVE EXTENSION

M. Ray McKinnie
Dean of the College of Agriculture and 1890 Administrator

mmckinnie@vsu.edu  |  524-5260

Doris Heath
Interim Assistant Administrator for Programs, Cooperative Extension

dheath@vsu.edu  |  524-5262

Ronald Howell
Director of Operations Management

rhowell@vsu.edu  |  

Sylvia Jones
Administrative Assistant to the Dean

sjones@vsu.edu  |  524-5961

 

STATE & FEDERAL AGENCIES

Katrina Johnson
1890 USDA Liaison

Katrina.Johnson@osec.usda.gov  |  524-5662


 

 

AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH STATION

Wondi Mersie
Associate Dean and Director of Research

wmersie@vsu.edu  |  524-5631

 

Center for Agricultural Research,
Engagement and Outreach (CAREO)

M.O. Faison
Interim Executive Director

mfaison@vsu.edu  |  524-6793

 

STAFF SERVICES & SUPPORT

 

FINANCE

Mary Gromovsky
Director of Financial Services

mgromovsky@vsu.edu  |  524-5873

Pat Booker
HR Processor

pbooker@vsu.edu

LaTonya Graves
Administrative & Office Specialist

lgraves@vsu.edu  |  524-5959

Michell Green
Financial Analyst, Small Farm Outreach Program

mgreen@vsu.edu | 524-6971

Kiara Jones
Administrative Specialist

knjones@vsu.edu  |  524-5836

Janice Judkins
Financial Analyst, Agriculture Research Station

jjudkins@vsu.edu | 

Sonya McLaughlin
Procurement Officer

smclaughlin@vsu.edu  |  524-6993

 

FACILITIES

Richard Booker
Manager, L. Douglas Wilder Building

rbooker@vsu.edu  |  524-6961

Rudy Grammer
Manager, Randolph Farm

rgrammer@vsu.edu  |  504-7060

Jimmy Mullins
Tour Manager, Randolph Farm

jmullins@vsu.edu  |  524-3294

MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS

Michelle Olgers
Director of Marketing & Communications

molgers@vsu.edu  |  524-6964

Lesha Berkel
Graphic Designer/Creative

  • Print and Electronic Publications,
    Visual Media, Art Direction

lberkel@vsu.edu  |  804-926-9670

Brittany Hughes
Graphic Designer

bhughes@vsu.edu  |  524-2788

Mark Klingman
Assistant, Administration and Technology

mjklingman@vsu.edu  |  524-6970

Tammy McCausland
Writer/Editor

tmccausland@vsu.edu| 

Erica Shambley
Digital Marketing Manager

  • Website

  • Social Media

eshambley@vsu.edu  |  524-5965

 

SPECIAL EVENTS

Paula McCapes
PR & Marketing Specialist
Special Events Coordinator

pmccapes@vsu.edu  |  524-5839

 

IT / AV TECHNICAL SERVICES

Kelly M. Kane
IT Support Specialist

kkane@vsu.edu | 804-524-6966

 

COOPERATIVE EXTENSION AT VSU

 

AGRICULTURE & NATURAL RESOURCES

Mollie Klein
Administrative & Office Specialist

mklein@vsu.edu  |  524-5960

Marcus Comer
Extension Specialist, Natural Resource Management /
Associate Professor

mcomer@vsu.edu  |  524-5467

David Dunaway
Technician, Horticulture

ddunaway@vsu.edu  |  524-3296

Joel Koci
Associate Extension Specialist, Natural Resource
Management (Urban Forestry)

jkoci@vsu.edu  |  524-5758

Christopher Mullins
Extension Specialist, Horticulture

  • Greenhouse, High Tunnels

cmullins@vsu.edu  |  524-5834

Theresa Nartea
Extension Specialist, Marketing & Agribusiness / Assistant Professor

tnartea@vsu.edu  |  524-5491

Dahlia O’Brien
Extension Specialist / Associate Professor

dobrien@vsu.edu  |  524-6963

Reza Rafie
Extension Specialist, Horticulture

  • Berries, Ginger/Turmeric, Niche Crops

arafie@vsu.edu  |  524-5840

Charles Hill
Agricultural Technician II, Horticulture

 

Aquaculture

Debra B. Jones
Administrative & Office Specialist

dbjones@vsu.edu  |  524-5496

David Crosby
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor

  • Fish Health

dcrosby@vsu.edu  |  524-3653

Culbert Jones
Assistant

524-5833

Louis Landesman
Agent

llandesman@vsu.edu  |  524-6962

Brian Nerrie
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor

bnerrie@vsu.edu  |  524-5903

 

FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCES

Crystal Johnson
Administrative Assistant

crjohnson@vsu.edu  |  524-5966

Rose Allen
Assistant

  • EFNEP Program

rallen@vsu.edu  |  524-5966

Elisha Anderson
Educational Support Specialist III

eanderson@vsu.edu  |  (804) 269-2002

Larry Connatser
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor

  • Family Resource Management

lconnatser@vsu.edu  |  524-5253

Annie M. Crawley
Family Nutrition Program Assistant

amcrawley@vsu.edu  |  (804) 733-1880 ext. 3143

Wanda J. Johnson
Associate Extension Specialist

  • Horticulture, Community Gardens & Food Demonstrations

wjohnson@vsu.edu  |  524-5470

Debra S. Jones
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor

  • Family Health & EFNEP Coordinator

dsjones@vsu.edu  |  524-5847

Novella Ruffin
Extension Specialist

  • Child Development & Parenting

nruffin@vsu.edu  |  524-5257

 

4-H & YOUTH DEVELOPMENT

Jessica Harris
Administrative & Office Specialist

jbrown@vsu.edu  |  524-5964

Marcus Comer
Extension Specialist / Associate Professor

mcomer@vsu.edu  |  524-5467

Maurice D. Smith Jr.
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor
Youth Development, Citizenship & Leadership Development

mdsmith@vsu.edu | 524-3084

Chantel Wilson
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor
STEAM Education

cwilson@vsu.edu | 524-5495

SMALL FARM OUTREACH PROGRAM

William Crutchfield
Director

wcrutchfield@vsu.edu  |  524-3295

Michael Wooden
Assistant Director

mwooden@vsu.edu  |  524-3652

Nadine Jackson
Administrative Assistant

njackson@vsu.edu  |  524-3293

Cheryl Crawford
Administrative Assistant

cacrawford@vsu.edu  |  524-3292

Fidelis Okpebholo
Administrative & Office Specialist

  • Grants Coordinator

fokpebholo@vsu.edu  |  691-1290

Mery Caldwell
Hispanic Outreach Coordinator, At-Large

mcaldwell@vsu.edu  |  481-0425

Michael Carter Sr.
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Loudoun, Fairfax, Stafford, Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Madison, Warren, Prince William, Rappahannock

mcarter@vsu.edu  |  481-1163

Michael Carter, Jr.
Small Farm Resource Center Coordinator

micarter@vsu.edu|  804-691-0490

Leonel Castillo
Hispanic Outreach Agent, At-Large

lcastillo@vsu.edu  |  757-374-9302

Susan Cheek
Agriculture Management Agent

  • At-large agent

scheek@vsu.edu  |  720-5539

Derrick Cladd
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Brunswick, Greensville, Sussex, Southampton, James City, Surry, Isle of Wight.

  • Serving Cities: Franklin, Suffolk, Portsmouth, Chesapeake, Virginia Beach

dcladd@vsu.edu  |  804-892-4489

Chasten Davis
Event Coordination / Administrative Support

cadavis@vsu.edu  |  804-524-3292

James T. (Tony) Edwards
Beginning Farmer Veterans Coordinator

jtedwards@vsu.edu | 804-720-2588

Marilyn Estes
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Buckingham, Cumberland, Prince Edward, Nottoway, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg

mestes@vsu.edu  |  481-0485

Megan Harrison
Socially Disadvantaged and Veteran Beginning Farmer & Rancher Program

mharrison@vsu.edu |  804-524-5114

Vernon Heath
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Hanover, New Kent, Prince George, Dinwiddie, Chesterfield, Amelia, Henrico, Hanover, Powhatan, Charles City, York

  • Serving Cities: Richmond, Colonial Heights, Petersburg, Hopewell, Williamsburg, Newport News, Hampton, Norfolk

vheath@vsu.edu  |  829-5675

Tammy Holler
Agriculture Management Agent, At-Large

  • Nutrient Management Specialist

tholler@vt.edu  |  229-2730

Tracy Porter
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Virginia Eastern Shore

tporter@vsu.edu  |  (804) 481-2566

Clifford Somerville
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Halifax, Charlotte

csomerville@vsu.edu  |  434-572-6524

Grace Summers
Agriculture Management Agent, At-Large

  • USDA NRCS programs

gsummers@vsu.edu  |  712-0093

Roland Terrell
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Albemarle, Nelson, Greene, Orange, Spotsylvania, Louisa, Fluvanna, Goochland

rterrell@vsu.edu  |  892-4612

 

SUSTAINABLE & URBAN AGRICULTURE

Leonard Githinji
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor

  • Urban Ag Certification Program

lgithinji@vsu.edu |  524-5482

Saajida Chohan
Agriculture Specialist

schohan@vsu.edu

Cynthia Martin
Educational Support Specialist

cmartin@vsu.edu  |  524-5252

Paul Meyer
Program Support Technician

pmeyer@vsu.edu  | 

Marcus Comer
Extension Specialist / Associate Professor

  • Harding St Urban Ag Center

mcomer@vsu.edu  |  524-5467

 

Agricultural Research Station

 

STAFF SERVICES & SUPPORT (REseARCH)

Rose Bland-Lee
Administrative & Program Specialist III

rbland@vsu.edu  |  524-5635

Laverne Morris
Office Manager / Administrative Assistant

lmorris@vsu.edu  |  524-5151

Eric Minar
Facility Manager, Greenhouse

eminar@vsu.edu  |  524-5739

Stephanie McNeil
Administrative & Program Specialist III

smcneil@vsu.edu  |  524-5596

William H. Porter III
Media Specialist

  • Photography

  • Large Format Printing

wporter@vsu.edu  |  524-5954

Celeste Ricks
Administrative & Program Specialist  II

cricks@vsu.edu  |  524-5894

 

Common Lab

Zaid Abraha-Eyob
Laboratory & Research Specialist II

zabraha-eyob@vsu.edu  |  524-5659

Anwar Hamama
Laboratory & Research Specialist II

ahamama@vsu.edu  |  524-6858

Naomi Pearson
Laboratory & Research Practitioner II

npearson@vsu.edu  |  524-5615

 

FOOD SCIENCES

Chyer Kim
Assistant Professor

  • Food Science/Food Safety

ckim@vsu.edu  |  524-6715

Haiwen Li
Laboratory & Research Specialist II

  • Food Science/Food Chemistry

hali@vsu.edu  |  524-1533

Rafat Siddiqui
Associate Professor

  • Food Science/Food Chemistry

rsiddiqui@vsu.edu  |  524-5957

Edward Sismour
Laboratory & Research Specialist II

  • Food Science/Food Processing

esismour@vsu.edu  |  524-1147

Yixiang Xu
Assistant Professor

  • Food Science/Food Processing

yixu@vsu.edu  |  524-5668

 

 

 

PLANT SCIENCES

Asmare Atalay
Research Professor

  • Soil

aatalay@vsu.edu  |  524-6721

Harbans Bhardwaj
Professor

  • Legumes

hbhardwaj@vsu.edu  |  524-6723

Ronald Bowen
Laboratory and Research Practitioner IV

  • Plant Science Manager

rbowen@vsu.edu  |  524-5379

Francoise Favi
Laboratory & Research Specialist

ffavi@vsu.edu  |  524-1533

Hui Gao
Agriculture Specialist I

hgao@vsu.edu | 

Andrew Huff
Agricultural Specialist I

ahuff@vsu.edu  |  524-5989

Guo-Liang Jiang
Associate Professor

  • Legumes

gjiang@vsu.edu  |  524-5953

Maru Kering
Assistant Professor

  • Sorghum

mkering@vsu.edu  |  524-5955

Zelalem Mersha
Assistant Professor

zmersha@vsu.edu  |  524-2694

Shuxin Ren
Assistant Professor

  • Biotechnology

sren@vsu.edu  |  524-3094

Laban Rutto
Assistant Professor

  • HOPS

lrutto@vsu.edu  |  524-6781

Toktam Taghavi
Assistant Professor

  • Postharvest and Plant Physiology

ttaghavi@vsu.edu  |  524-5952

Brodie Whitehead
Laboratory Specialist Senior

  • Soil

bwhitehead@vsu.edu  |  524-5270

 

SMALL RUMINANTS

Edna Chozu
Animal Care Technician

echozu@vsu.edu  |  524-5989

Michelle Corley
Professor

  • Immunology

mcorley@vsu.edu  |  524-6802

Amanda Miller
Laboratory and Research Specialist II

  • Animal Herd Manager

acrites@vsu.edu  |  524-5989

Eunice Ndegwa
Assistant Professor

  • Animal Health

endegwa@vsu.edu  |  524-3264

Adrian Oglesby
Agricultural Specialist I

aoglesby@vsu.edu  |  524-5989

Vitalis Temu
Associate Professor

  • Pasture

vtemu@vsu.edu  |  524-6717

Stephan Wildeus
Research Associate Professor

  • Reproductive Physiology

swildeus@vsu.edu |  524-6716

Adnan Yousuf
Associate Professor

  • Associate Professor, Small Ruminant Nutrition and Meat Production

ayousuf@vsu.edu  |  524-6795

 

ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

 

AGRICULTURE

Michelle Corley
Interim Department Chair, Professor

mcorley@vsu.edu  |  524-6802

Christopher J. Catanzaro
Associate Professor

ccatanzaro@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5255

Glenn F. Chappell II
Assistant Professor

gchappell@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5848

Richard Omotoye, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

romotoye@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-6872  |  Fax (804) 524-5054

Shobba Sriharan, Ph.D.
Professor

sriharan.vsu.edu  |  524-5220  |  Fax 804-524-5486

Pamela Thomas-Buchanan, DVM
Associate Professor

  • Beef Cattle, Small Ruminant, Swine, Dairy,
    and Advanced Livestock Production

  • Anatomy, Physiology, Reproduction

  • Veterinary Hygiene

  • Equine Science

  • Poultry Science

  • Nutrition, Feed and Feeding

  • Environmental Science

pthomas@vsu.edu  |  804-524-5457  |  Fax 804-524-5048

 

 

FAMILY AND CONSUMER SCIENCES

Crystal Wynn
Department Chair, Assistant Professor

crwynn@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-6351

Alice Joyner, Ed.D.
Associate Professor

ajoyner@vsu.edu  |  804-524-6754

Dana Legette-Traylor
Assistant Professor

dlegette-traylor@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5161

Patricia Lynch, Ph.D.
Associate Professor/Program Coordinator-Dietetics

plynch@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5729

Alesia F. Meredith
Administrative Assistant

ameredith@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5761

Montoya Phipps

mphipps@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-1056

Badiyyah Waajid, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

bwaajid@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-8340

 

Hospitality Management

Berkita Bradford
Department Chair, Associate Professor

bbradford@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-2552

Novita Epps
Instructor

nepps@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5926

Rose Mangal
Culinary & Hospitality Educator

rmangal@vsu.edu|  524-5155

Michelle Mosely, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

  • HMGT 101 Introduction to Hospitality Management

  • HMGT 201 Hospitality Technology Management

  • HMGT 303 Hospitality Law and Ethics

  • HMGT 402 Hospitality Human Resources Management

  • HMGT 407 Conference and Exposition Management

  • HMGT 409 Hospitality Facility Plan Management and Design

  • HMGT 435 Organizational Leadership

  • HMGT 449 Hospitality Marketing Management

mmosely@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-6353

Ruby M. Thompson
Administrative Assistant

rthompson@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-6753

Grace (Yan) Zhong, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

  • Lodging Management

  • International Hospitality Management

  • Tourism Management

  • Resort Management

yzhong@vsu.edu  |  (804) 504-7085  |  Fax 804-524-6843