Administration

College of Agriculture

M. Ray McKinnie
Dean of the College of Agriculture and 1890 Administrator

mmckinnie@vsu.edu  |  524-5260

Sylvia Jones
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
and Associate Dean

sjones@vsu.edu  |  524-5961

 

STATE & FEDERAL AGENCIES

Katrina Johnson
1890 USDA Liaison

Katrina.Johnson@osec.usda.gov  |  524-5662

Ronald Howell
Special Assistant to the Virginia Secretary of
Agriculture & Forestry

rhowell@vsu.edu  |  
 

 

 
Cooperative Extension

Franklin Jackson
Associate Dean, Cooperative Extension

fjackson@vsu.edu  |  524-5262

 

AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH STATION

Wondi Mersie
Associate Dean and Director of Research

wmersie@vsu.edu  |  524-5631

 

Center for Agricultural Research,
Engagement and Outreach (CAREO)

Jewel Bronaugh
Executive Director

jbronaugh@vsu.edu  |  

 

STAFF SERVICES & SUPPORT

 

FINANCE

Mary Gromovsky
Director of Financial Services

mgromovsky@vsu.edu  |  524-5873

Pat Booker
HR Processor

pbooker@vsu.edu

LaTonya Graves
Administrative & Office Specialist

lgraves@vsu.edu  |  524-5959

Sonya McLaughlin
Procurement Officer

smclaughlin@vsu.edu  |  524-6993

Raymond Moss
Administrative Services Coordinator

rmoss@vsu.edu  |  504-7082

 

FACILITIES

Richard Booker
Manager, L. Douglas Wilder Building

rbooker@vsu.edu  |  524-6961

Rudy Grammer
Manager, Randolph Farm

rgrammer@vsu.edu  |  504-7060

Jimmy Mullins
Tour Manager, Randolph Farm

jmullins@vsu.edu  |  524-3294

Troy Tucker
Operator, VSU Mobile Lab

ttucker@vsu.edu  |  524-5593

MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS

Michelle Olgers
Director of Marketing & Communications

molgers@vsu.edu  |  524-6964

Lesha Berkel
Graphic Designer/Creative

  • Print and Electronic Publications,
    Visual Media, Art Direction

lberkel@vsu.edu  |  524-2788

Mark Klingman
Assistant, Administration and Technology

mjklingman@vsu.edu  |  524-6970

Paul Meyer
Filmmaker / Photographer

pmeyer@vsu.edu  |  524-2587

Erica Shambley
Digital Marketing Manager

  • Website
  • Social Media

eshambley@vsu.edu  |  524-5965

 

SPECIAL EVENTS

Paula McCapes
PR & Marketing Specialist
Special Events Coordinator

pmccapes@vsu.edu  |  524-5839

 

COOPERATIVE EXTENSION AT VSU

 

AGRICULTURE & NATURAL RESOURCES

Mollie Klein
Administrative & Office Specialist

mklein@vsu.edu  |  524-5960

Marcus Comer
Extension Specialist, Natural Resource Management /
Associate Professor

mcomer@vsu.edu  |  524-5467

David Dunaway
Technician, Horticulture

ddunaway@vsu.edu  |  524-3296

Joel Koci
Associate Extension Specialist, Natural Resource
Management (Urban Forestry)

jkoci@vsu.edu  |  524-5758

Christopher Mullins
Extension Specialist, Horticulture

  • Greenhouse, High Tunnels

cmullins@vsu.edu  |  524-5834

Theresa Nartea
Extension Specialist, Marketing & Agribusiness /
Assistant Professor

tnartea@vsu.edu  |  524-5491

Dahlia O’Brien
Extension Specialist / Associate Professor

dobrien@vsu.edu  |  524-6963

Reza Rafie
Extension Specialist, Horticulture

  • Berries, Ginger/Turmeric, Niche Crops

arafie@vsu.edu  |  524-5840

Charles Hill
Agricultural Technician II, Horticulture

 

Aquaculture

Debra B. Jones
Administrative & Office Specialist

dbjones@vsu.edu  |  524-5496

David Crosby
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor

  • Fish Health

dcrosby@vsu.edu  |  524-3653

Culbert Jones
Assistant

524-5833

Louis Landesman
Agent

llandesman@vsu.edu  |  524-6962

Brian Nerrie
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor

bnerrie@vsu.edu  |  524-5903

 

FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCES

Crystal Leonard
Administrative Assistant

cleonard@vsu.edu  |  524-5966

Rose Allen
Assistant

  • EFNEP Program

rallen@vsu.edu  |  524-5966

Elisha Anderson
Educational Support Specialist III

eanderson@vsu.edu  |  (804) 269-2002

Larry Connatser
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor

  • Family Resource Management

lconnatser@vsu.edu  |  524-5253

Annie M. Crawley
Family Nutrition Program Assistant

amcrawley@vsu.edu  |  (804) 733-1880 ext. 3143

Wanda J. Johnson
Associate Extension Specialist

  • Horticulture, Community Gardens & Food Demonstrations

wjohnson@vsu.edu  |  524-5470

Debra S. Jones
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor

  • Family Health & EFNEP Coordinator

dsjones@vsu.edu  |  524-5847

Novella Ruffin
Extension Specialist

  • Child Development & Parenting

nruffin@vsu.edu  |  524-5257

 

4-H & YOUTH DEVELOPMENT

Jessica Brown
Administrative & Office Specialist

jbrown@vsu.edu  |  524-5964

Marcus Comer
Extension Specialist / Associate Professor

mcomer@vsu.edu  |  524-5467

SMALL FARM OUTREACH PROGRAM

William Crutchfield
Director

wcrutchfield@vsu.edu  |  524-3295

Michael Wooden
Assistant Director

mwooden@vsu.edu  |  524-3652

Nadine Jackson
Administrative Assistant

njackson@vsu.edu  |  524-3293

Cheryl Crawford
Administrative Assistant

cacrawford@vsu.edu  |  524-3292

Fidelis Okpebholo
Administrative & Office Specialist

  • Grants Coordinator

fokpebholo@vsu.edu  |  691-1290

Alvin Adkins
Agriculture Management Agent, At-Large

aadkins@vsu.edu  |  524-6966

Mery Caldwell
Hispanic Outreach Coordinator, At-Large

mcaldwell@vsu.edu  |  481-0425

Michael Carter
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Loudoun, Fairfax, Stafford, Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Madison, Warren, Prince William, Rappahannock

mcarter@vsu.edu  |  481-1163

Susan Cheek
Agriculture Management Agent

  • At-large agent

scheek@vsu.edu  |  720-5539

Leonel Castillo
Hispanic Outreach Agent, At-Large

lcastille@vsu.edu  |  757-374-9302

Derrick Cladd
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Brunswick, Greensville, Sussex, Southampton, James City, Surry, Isle of Wight.
  • Serving Cities: Franklin, Suffolk, Portsmouth, Chesapeake, Virginia Beach

dcladd@vsu.edu  |  892-4489

Marilyn Estes
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Buckingham, Cumberland, Prince Edward, Nottoway, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg

mestes@vsu.edu  |  481-0485

Vernon Heath
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Hanover, New Kent, Prince George, Dinwiddie, Chesterfield, Amelia, Henrico, Hanover, Powhatan, Charles City, York
  • Serving Cities: Richmond, Colonial Heights, Petersburg, Hopewell, Williamsburg, Newport News, Hampton, Norfolk

vheath@vsu.edu  |  829-5675

Tammy Holler
Agriculture Management Agent, At-Large

  • Nutrient Management Specialist

tholler@vt.edu  |  229-2730

Patrick Johnson
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: King George, Westmoreland, Northumberland, Essex, Richmond, Lancaster, Mathews, King and Queen, King William, Middlesex, Gloucester, Accomack, Northampton

pbjohnson@vsu.edu  | 586-8280

Clifford Somerville
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Halifax, Charlotte

csomerville@vsu.edu  |  434-572-6524

Grace Summers
Agriculture Management Agent, At-Large

  • USDA NRCS programs

gsummers@vsu.edu  |  712-0093

Roland Terrell
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Albemarle, Nelson, Greene, Orange, Spotsylvania, Louisa, Fluvanna, Goochland

rterrell@vsu.edu  |  892-4612

Cassidy Williams
Agriculture Management Agent

  • Serving Counties: Appomattox, Amherst, Bedford, Campbell, Pittsylvania, Henry, Patrick, Franklin, Roanoke
  • Serving Cities: Danville, Martinsville

cwilliams@vsu.edu  |  704-4033

 

SUSTAINABLE & URBAN AGRICULTURE

Pamela Bingham
Project Director, Harding St Urban Ag Center

pbingham@vsu.edu  |  397-1465

Marcus Comer
Extension Specialist / Associate Professor

  • Harding St Urban Ag Center

mcomer@vsu.edu  |  524-5467

Leonard Githinji
Extension Specialist / Assistant Professor

  • Urban Ag Certification Program

lgithinji@vsu.edu |  524-5482

 

Agricultural Research Station

 

STAFF SERVICES & SUPPORT (REseARCH)

Laverne Morris
Office Manager/Administrative Assistant

lmorris@vsu.edu  |  524-5151

Eric Minar
Facility Manager, Greenhouse

eminar@vsu.edu  |  524-5739

Stephanie McNeil
Administrative & Program Specialist III

smcneil@vsu.edu  |  524-5596

William H. Porter III
Media Specialist

  • Photography
  • Large Format Printing

wporter@vsu.edu  |  524-5954

Celeste Ricks
Administrative & Program Specialist  II

cricks@vsu.edu  |  524-5894

 

Common Lab

Zaid Abraha-Eyob
Laboratory & Research Specialist II

zabraha-eyob@vsu.edu  |  524-5659

Anwar Hamama
Laboratory & Research Specialist II

ahamama@vsu.edu  |  524-6858

Naomi Pearson
Laboratory & Research Practitioner II

npearson@vsu.edu  |  524-5615

 

FOOD SCIENCES

Chyer Kim
Assistant Professor

  • Food Science/Food Safety

ckim@vsu.edu  |  524-6715

Haiwen Li
Laboratory & Research Specialist II

  • Food Science/Food Chemistry

hali@vsu.edu  |  524-1533

Rafat Siddiqui
Associate Professor

  • Food Science/Food Chemistry

rsiddiqui@vsu.edu  |  524-5957

Edward Sismour
Laboratory & Research Specialist II

  • Food Science/Food Processing

esismour@vsu.edu  |  524-1147

Yixiang Xu
Assistant Professor

  • Food Science/Food Processing

yixu@vsu.edu  |  524-5668

 

 

 

PLANT SCIENCES

Asmare Atalay
Research Professor

  • Soil

aatalay@vsu.edu  |  524-6721

Harbans Bhardwaj
Professor

  • Legumes

hbhardwaj@vsu.edu  |  524-6723

Ronald Bowen
Laboratory and Research Practitioner IV

  • Plant Science Manager

rbowen@vsu.edu  |  524-5379

Francoise Favi
Laboratory & Research Specialist

ffavi@vsu.edu  |  524-1533

Andrew Huff
Agricultural Specialist I

ahuff@vsu.edu  |  524-5989

Guo-Liang Jiang
Associate Professor

  • Legumes

gjiang@vsu.edu  |  524-5953

Maru Kering
Assistant Professor

  • Sorghum

mkering@vsu.edu  |  524-5955

Shuxin Ren
Assistant Professor

  • Biotechnology

sren@vsu.edu  |  524-3094

Laban Rutto
Assistant Professor

  • HOPS

lrutto@vsu.edu  |  524-6781

Toktam Taghavi
Assistant Professor

  • Postharvest and Plant Physiology

ttaghavi@vsu.edu  |  524-5952

Brodie Whitehead
Laboratory Specialist Senior

  • Soil

bwhitehead@vsu.edu  |  524-5270

 

SMALL RUMINANTS

Edna Chozu
Animal Care Technician

echozu@vsu.edu  |  524-5989

Michelle Corley
Professor

  • Immunology

mcorley@vsu.edu  |  524-6802

Amanda Miller
Laboratory and Research Specialist II

  • Animal Herd Manager

acrites@vsu.edu  |  524-5989

Eunice Ndegwa
Assistant Professor

  • Animal Health

endegwa@vsu.edu  |  524-3264

Adrian Oglesby
Agricultural Specialist I

aoglesby@vsu.edu  |  524-5989

Vitalis Temu
Associate Professor

  • Pasture

vtemu@vsu.edu  |  524-6717

Stephan Wildeus
Research Associate Professor

  • Reproductive Physiology

swildeus@vsu.edu |  524-6716

Adnan Yousuf
Associate Professor

  • Associate Professor, Small Ruminant Nutrition and Meat Production

ayousuf@vsu.edu  |  524-6795

 

ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

 

AGRICULTURE

Christopher J. Catanzaro
Interim Department Chair, Associate Professor

ccatanzaro@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5255

Glenn F. Chappell II
Assistant Professor

gchappell@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5848

Jackie Eldridge
Program & Technical Specialist III

jeldridge@vsu.edu  |  804-524-5672

Richard Omotoye, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

romotoye@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-6872  |  Fax (804) 524-5054

Shobba Sriharan, Ph.D.
Professor

sriharan.vsu.edu  |  524-5220  |  Fax 804-524-5486

Pamela Thomas-Buchanan, DVM
Associate Professor

  • Beef Cattle, Small Ruminant, Swine, Dairy,
    and Advanced Livestock Production
  • Anatomy, Physiology, Reproduction
  • Veterinary Hygiene
  • Equine Science
  • Poultry Science
  • Nutrition, Feed and Feeding
  • Environmental Science

pthomas@vsu.edu  |  804-524-5457  |  Fax 804-524-5048

 

 

FAMILY AND CONSUMER SCIENCES

Alice Joyner, Ed.D.
Department Chair, Associate Professor

ajoyner@vsu.edu  |  804-524-6754

Dana Legette-Traylor
Assistant Professor

dlegette-traylor@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5161

Patricia Lynch, Ph.D.
Associate Professor/Program Coordinator-Dietetics

plynch@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5729

Alesia F. Meredith
Administrative Assistant

ameredith@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5761

Phipps, Montoya

mphipps@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-1056

Badiyyah Waajid, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

bwaajid@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-8340

Crystal Wynn
Assistant Professor

crwynn@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-6351

 

Hospitality Management

Berkita Bradford
Department Chair, Associate Professor

bbradford@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-2552

Novita Epps
Instructor

nepps@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-5926

Michelle Mosely, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

  • HMGT 101 Introduction to Hospitality Management
  • HMGT 201 Hospitality Technology Management
  • HMGT 303 Hospitality Law and Ethics
  • HMGT 402 Hospitality Human Resources Management
  • HMGT 407 Conference and Exposition Management
  • HMGT 409 Hospitality Facility Plan Management and Design
  • HMGT 435 Organizational Leadership
  • HMGT 449 Hospitality Marketing Management

mmosely@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-6353

Ruby M. Thompson
Administrative Assistant

rthompson@vsu.edu  |  (804) 524-6753

Grace (Yan) Zhong, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

  • Lodging Management
  • International Hospitality Management
  • Tourism Management
  • Resort Management

yzhong@vsu.edu  |  (804) 504-7085  |  Fax 804-524-6843